Under state law, all electric utilities are required to collect fees to fund energy assistance programs. These programs are generally only available to persons below certain income thresholds.

The Wisconsin Department of Administration, Division of Energy, Housing and Community Resources administers the state’s public benefits program for all utilities, except those that operate their own Commitment-to-Community program. For more information, on how to apply, please visit the Home Energy Plus website.

Electric Cooperatives with Commitment-to-Community energy assistance programs:

Barron Electric Cooperative Rock Energy Cooperative
Central Wisconsin Electric Cooperative Riverland Energy Cooperative
Dunn Energy Cooperative St. Croix Electric Cooperative
Jackson Electric Cooperative Vernon Electric Cooperative
Pierce Pepin Cooperative Services Washington Island Electric Cooperative

The state also administers a home weatherization assistance program for qualifying persons based on income. The goal of the weatherization program is to save energy by targeting households with an excessive energy burden and that are made up of elderly, handicapped and/or children under 6 years of age. For more information, including where to apply, click here.

Associate Membership

Associate membership in the Wisconsin Electric Cooperative Association provides a continuing opportunity for providers of goods, services, materials, and equipment to build and maintain networking contacts with Wisconsin's electric co-ops and others with interests and needs related to all aspects of the electric power industry.

Learn More  >